The Final Fantasy VII franchise is huge — playing the games in chronological order might make more sense of things.


The idea of having a chronological order for Final Fantasy VII seems ridiculous. It is reasonable to think that fans who didn't pay attention to the franchise when released would have a hard time remembering it.

Square Enix has already updated the universe of Final Fantasy VII with spin-offs, and with the Remake's success, they're more inclined to release new titles in the proper order. With the addition of more spin-offs, it's worth knowing the entirety of the series' history for anyone who plans on running it in the proper order.

However, the following list excludes the mobile game Final Fantasy VII Ever Crisis.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by FINAL FANTASY (@finalfantasy)

1. Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier (30 years before FFVII)
It may seem odd that a game with no narrative to speak of is the first game in Final FVII's chronology. However, The First Soldier was set 30 years before FFVII. 

The First Soldier takes place in the same universe as FFVII, and it uses the story of Shinra's elite unit, SOLDIER, as its main inspiration. It doesn't attempt to build a world as detailed as that of Final Fantasy VII.

2. Before Crisis: Final Fantasy VII (6 years before FFVII)
Before Crisis is a game that was designed for mobile phones. It features a story that begins after Shinra takes down Wutai.

In an inversion of the series, Shinra's Turks are the protagonists, while AVALANCHE is the antagonist. Cloud, Tifa, and Aerith, some iconic characters from the original game, make cameo appearances.

3. Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII (7 years before FFVII)
Crisis Core features a story that continues with the focus on Zack Fair, who befriends Cloud and Aerith. Zack's importance in Cloud's backstory is elaborated in this game.

It also features Sephiroth's evolution from being a SOLDIER to a villain of Final Fantasy VII. It also recreates the opening scene of Final Fantasy VII.

4. Final Fantasy VII
The original Final Fantasy VII is set midway through the series's timeline. While it was initially intended as a standalone title, it has since been updated to include prequels that fill in some gaps that the original game couldn't address.

While it was initially exclusive to PlayStation, it is now available on Windows and other consoles.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by FINAL FANTASY (@finalfantasy)

5. Dirge Of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII (3 years after FFVII)
Dirge of Cerberus takes place three years after Final Fantasy VII's conclusion. It features a character named Vincent Valentine, who became a fan favorite.

Due to him not being a core part of the party, there was a lack of backstory for Vincent. The game's main antagonist is Deepground, a group of Shinra operatives trying to raise the Omega Weapon.

6. Final Fantasy VII Remake (during & after FFVII)
The Final Fantasy VII Remake is a multi-part project in the same universe but with modern graphics. It borrows elements from the original while also making significant changes to the story.

Square Enix has not revealed where the Remake's story will take place, but it is believed that it will take place after the events of the original game.

7. FFVII Remake INTERmission (concurrent with Remake)
The Intermission DLC introduces an optional character named Yuffie to the Remake universe. After the bombing of Reactor 5, Yuffie travels to Midgar to steal Ultima Mercy from Shinra. This DLC serves as an introduction to Yuffie and her character.



#THE S MEDIA #Media Milenial