Purnell to create special edition for Ballon d'Or winners


The Ballon d'Or is a prestigious award in the world of football for both men and women. This award is a form of assessment for the best athlete in the competition for the year running.

Watchmaker Purnell sees the Ballon d'Or event as a prestigious venue that suits its watch products. This makes Purnell the official partner for the 2021 Ballon d'Or and will continue for the next three years.

The Ballon d'Or event, which will take place on November 29, 2021, in Paris, makes Purnell prepare a unique model designed for the award event.

Purnell will make a particular watch for the winner of the Ballon d'Or. There is a list of more than 30 football athletes who are nominated this year, and among them, in addition to receiving the Ballon d'Or award, will also take home the special edition watch.


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Purnell Official (@purnell_official)


Purnell CEO, Maurizio Mazzocchi, said that this football award event deserves to be compared to the Academy Awards or Palme d'Or in the world of cinema. As the most popular sport in the world, football has made the Ballon d'Or award a global concern.

"While other brands sponsor clubs and competitions, Purnell, which has a special edge given its extremely high-end positioning – indeed, our models' average pricing is the highest in the watchmaking industry – could only attach its name to the very best players, the Ballon d'OrTM winners," said Mazzocchi.

Purnell is a watchmaker that was founded in Geneva last year. House of Purnell is a newcomer to the world of horology that puts forward Tourbillon-driven watches' design and manufacturing process. The production is limited, and it can be only one unit or several pieces.

Purnell claims to have a knack for gravity, with master watchmaker Eric Coudray having created a high-speed triple-axis tourbillon watch called the Spherion.

Although the tourbillon was invented in 1801, Purnell has created this technology with various avant-garde touches and concepts on the Spherion. This fits with Purnell's tagline, More Future than Past.

One of the football celebrities who became Purnell's brand ambassador is Fabio Cannavaro. The Italian defender who won the 2006 Ballon d'Or was famous for his speed and determination in the Italian defence until he won the 2006 World Cup.

"When I wear a Purnell watch, I can't help but be fascinated with the speed and performance of its tourbillons, enhanced by a unique design," Fabio Cannavaro confides.

"I admire Purnell's determination to always push the boundaries of what is possible through its watches whose performance is second to none, and I am proud to have my name associated with Purnell and its unique watchmaking culture," Cannavaro added.


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Purnell Official (@purnell_official)


The Ballon d'Or was created in 1956 by the weekly magazine France Football. This annual award event selects the best players selected by a panel of international judges from among journalists.

In 2020 the Ballon d'Or will not take place due to the pandemic situation. Even though at that time, Robert Lewandowski performed brilliantly with Bayern Munich, winning various trophies.

The Ballon d'Or also awards female soccer athletes starting 2018 after the popularity of football penetrated the women's world by presenting talented athletes at the national and club levels.

In addition, this event also provided two additional awards, namely the Kopa Trophy, which was given to talented young players under 21 years of age and the Yashin Trophy, which was given to the best goalkeeper.

The last 20 Men’s Ballon d’OrTM winners

2019: Lionel Messi

2018: Luka Modric

2017: Cristiano Ronaldo

2016: Cristiano Ronaldo

2015: Lionel Messi 

2014: Cristiano Ronaldo

2013: Cristiano Ronaldo 

2009-2012: Lionel Messi

2008: Cristiano Ronaldo

2007: Kaká

2006: Fabio Cannavaro

2005: Ronaldinho

2004: Andreï Chevtchenko

2003: Pavel Nedved

2002: Ronaldo

2001: Michael Owen

2000: Luis Figo.


Women’s Ballon d’Or winners

2019: Megan Rapinoe

2018: Ada Hegerberg.


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ballon d’Or (@francefootball)

2021 Men's Football Player Nominations

Cesar Azpilicueta

Nicolo Barella

Karim Benzema

Leonardo Bonucci

Giorgio Chiellini

Kevin De Bruyne

Ruben Dias 

Gianluigi Donnarumma

Bruno Fernandes

Phil Foden

Erling Haaland


Harry Kane

N'Golo Kante

Simon Kjaer

Robert Lewandowski

Romelu Lukaku

Riyad Mahrez

Lautaro Martinez

Kylian Mbappe

Lionel Messi

Luka Modric

Gerard Moreno

Mason Mount



Cristiano Ronaldo

Mohamed Salah

Raheem Sterling 

Luis Suarez

2021 Women's Soccer Player Nominations

Alexia Putellas

Magdalena Eriksson

Marie-Antoinette Katoto

Sam Kerr 

Stina Blackstenius

Wendie Renard

Samantha Mewis

Pernille Harder

Vivianne Miedema

Sandra Panos

Lieke Martens

Jessie Fleming

Irene Paredes

Ashley Lawrence

Christine Sinclair

Ellen White 

Christiane Endler

Jennifer Hermoso

Fran Kirby

Kadidiatou Diani


#THE S MEDIA #Media Milenial #purnell #tourbillon #watches #ballon d'or